Blink of an Eye

Blink of an Eye header image 1

Season 2: Episode 1: What Just Happened

Copy_of_blink-1024x512-_2_ax5am.jpg

Welcome to Season 2. Trauma is not just an event, although the trauma experience begins with one event.  In order to move forward in trauma-healing, you often have to look back. 

That’s what Louise Phipps Senft is doing in this first episode of Blink of an Eye’s Season 2. Join Louise as she recaps the first 9 days in the ICU following her son Archer’s diving accident in Cape May, New Jersey. It begins with The Call and ends in the aftermath of Archer’s cardiac arrest. The story doesn’t just stop there, though: Season 2 will continue to follow Louise and her family as they cope with this life changing event and interact with medical staff. But for now, let’s look back at what brought Louise, Archer, and their family of 7 to where we left off. 

In this episode, you will hear excerpts from Louise’s interviews with:

Davis Barsby, the Assistant Manager at the Beach Club and the head lifeguard at the time of the accident, and a lifelong friend of the Senft family.

Paula Senft Easton, Louise’s eldest child, and only daughter, and Archer’s sister, who was 24 at the time of Archer’s accident and is today the Associate Director of Admissions for the Friends School in Baltimore.

Pete Senft, Louise’s son and Archer’s oldest brother, who was 21 at the time of Archer’s accident and in college, and is now a civil engineer at Whiting Turner Construction Company.

Mary Ellen McNally, Louise’s friend from Cape May, New Jersey, who was behind Louise at just the right moment during mass.

Dr. Raymond Talucci, who was the Acting Chief of Trauma at AtlantiCare Hospital in Atlantic City, New Jersey, while Archer was a patient there. 

You will also hear features clips from the following episodes from Season 1 in a montage: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 13, 15, 17, 20, 21, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 33 and 34

Join Louise for this new season, Season 2 of Blink of an Eye: Episode 1: What Just Happened. A look back to August 5-9, the first week. 

Listen in afterwards to this week’s companion Trauma Healing Learnings episode for new understandings on trauma and tools to navigate your own trauma healing: Trauma Healing Learning: What Just Happened, where Louise takes a closer look at forgiveness, generational wounds, and the consequences of medical errors on trauma healing.

To find out more about Archer, Louise, and this podcast, visit our website at blinkofaneyepodcast.com, and follow us on Instagram and Facebook @blinkofaneyepodcast, and Twitter @blinkofaneyepod  Make sure to subscribe wherever you get your podcasts.

You can become a member of our Patreon community and see extra Blink of an Eye content and bonus episodes at our Patreon page

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

The clips in the montage are from season 1 episodes:

Episode 1: The Call: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-1-the-call-1595863847/

Episode 2: He Talked With God: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-2-he-talked-with-god

Episode 3: Tunnel Vision: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/ep-3-tunnel-vision/

Episode 4: The Family Meeting: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-4-family-meeting/

Episode 5: Prayer Warriors Unite!: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-5-prayer-warriors-unite/

Episode 6: The Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda’s: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-6-the-woulda-coulda-shoulda-s/

Episode 7: The Whole Truth and Nothing But the Truth: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-7-the-whole-truth-and-nothing-but-the-truth/

Episode 8: Archer’s Tree Weeps Too: She Knows: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-8-archer-s-tree-weeps-too-she-knows/

Episode 9: Pray for Archer: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-9-pray-for-archer/

Episode 10: What to Say: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-10-what-to-say/

Episode 11: Holding it Together: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-11-holding-it-together/

Episode 12: Some Things Stay the Same: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-12-some-things-stay-the-same/

Episode 13: What Not to Say: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-13-what-not-to-sayh/

Episode 14: Soothing Texts — What (Not) to Text: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-14-soothing-texts-what-not-to-text/

Episode 15: You Gotta Go Through It: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-15-you-gotta-go-through-it/

Episode 16: In the Foxhole: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-16-in-the-foxhole/

Episode 17: The New North Star: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-17-the-new-north-star/

Episode 18: Gateway to Hope: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-18-gateway-to-hope/

Episode 19: You Didn’t Have To, But You Did: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-19-you-didnt-have-to-but-you-did/

Episode 20: A Most Remarkable Day: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-20-a-most-remarkable-day/

Episode 21: Never Underestimate the Humanity of Boys: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-21-never-underestimate-the-humanity-of-boys/

Episode 22: The Body Knows the Score: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/the-body-knows-the-score/

Episode 23: The Body Knows the Score Part 2:

https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-23-the-body-knows-the-score-part-2/

Episode 24:The ABC Board: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-24-the-abc-board/

Episode 25: I Didn’t See This One Coming: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-25-i-didnt-see-this-one-coming/

Episode 26: Little Angel: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-26-little-angel/

Episode 27: No Time for Tears: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-27-no-time-for-tears/

Episode 28: Tell Him Everything: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-28-tell-him-everything/

Episode 29: Mediation for the Mediator: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-29-mediation-for-the-mediator/

Episode 30: The Painful Past Informs Us: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-30-the-painful-past-informs-us/

Episode 31: Stay Alert: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-31-stay-alert/

Episode 32: Peripheral Friends: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-32-peripheral-friends/

Episode 33: Death Be Gone, Part 1: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-33-death-be-gone-part-1/

Episode 34: Death Be Gone, Part 2: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-34-death-be-gone-part-2/

Bonus: Interview with Davis Barsby

blink-1024x512-bonus1.png

In this bonus episode, you’ll hear Louise’s full interview with Davis Barsby, a lifelong family friend who was with Archer when Archer had his accident. That summer, Davis was working as both head lifeguard and assistant manager at the Cape May Beach Club.

Davis takes us back to that sweltering August afternoon, recounting his interactions with Archer earlier in the day, the moment in the water when he realized something was wrong, and the rescue efforts that followed. Davis called Louise and broke the news to her, then raced to the hospital in Atlantic City to meet her there. In addition to describing what happened and who else was on the beach that day, Davis also reflects on faith, guilt, and the impact the accident has had on him.

To hear more about that first day, August 5, 2015, listen to episode 1, The Call

Season 2 of Blink of an Eye is coming in June. Support us on Patreon to help us continue making the podcast.

To find out more about Archer, Louise, and this podcast, visit our website at blinkofaneyepodcast.com, and follow us on Instagram and Facebook @blinkofaneyepodcast, and Twitter @blinkofaneyepod

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

Episode 6: The Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda’s

Episode 6: The Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda’s

I could’ve insisted he do something else. I should’ve taken the time to see him again.

We could have prevented this.

Right? 

When our children experience trauma, we as parents are haunted, ripped apart, kept awake, and often paralyzed by notions of all we could’ve, should’ve, would’ve done. In this episode, Louise recalls Bill’s and her own such thoughts, which threatened to tear apart their marriage, and more importantly, their journey of releasing these damaging patterns of thinking, struggling to stand on solid ground in a chaotic unfamiliar Intensive Care Unit. 

 

Join Louise for this episode of Blink of an Eye: Episode 6 The Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda’s August 6. DAY 2. In this episode, you will hear interview excerpts from 

Joanne Quenzer, a dear friend from Philadelphia who drove up from Cape May with a robust CVS care package

Davis Barsby, the Assistant Manager at the Beach Club and the head lifeguard at the time of the accident, and a lifelong friend of the Senft family

Danny Giannascoli, Archer’s good friend and Cape May neighbor whom he's grown up with 

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

Episode 2: He Talked with God

Blink of an Eye Ep 2: He Talked with God

In the chaotic moments and hours immediately following Archer’s spinal cord injury, a series of “standard operating procedures” leads to more questions than answers. Scrambling for real answers, Louise realizes among scattered startling questions, the possibility of harm caused by hospitals’ policies set up for routine and risk management rather than healing. “My preference is to live” are words that will strike you deeply as she perseveres to experience the power of connecting cheek to cheek. 

Join Louise for this episode of Blink of an Eye: Episode 2 He Talked with God. August 5. DAY 1. In this episode, you will hear interview excerpts from
Davis Barsby, Assistant Manager of the Beach Club in Cape May, NJ, head Lifeguard, and dear family friend of the Senft family
Pete Senft, Louise's oldest son, who lives and Baltimore and was her advocate
Dr. Ken Williams, who has been the Senft family doctor in Baltimore since Archer was a young boy. #hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

Episode 1: The Call

blink of an eye episode 1 - the call

On a hot summer day in 2015, a prominent professional and mother of 5 receives the phone call that will change the rest of her — and her family’s — life.  One of her children, her son Archer, while at the beach, dove into the Atlantic Ocean for a quick, cooling swim as he’s done hundreds of times before. But this time, something went terribly wrong.  Join Louise for the powerful pilot episode of this extraordinary journey of life and death, trauma and epiphany, featuring the impact of trauma on her and others and interviews with people at the scene on both sides of a rapidly unfolding timeline of life-and-death decision-making. A remarkable story of loss, advocacy, and resilience begins. 

Join Louise for this episode of Blink of an Eye: Episode 1 The Call. August 5. DAY 1. In this episode, you will hear interview excerpts from

Jacqui Schmucker, a co-worker of Archer's that summer at the Beach Club,

Davis Barsby, the Assistant Manager at the Beach Club, the head lifeguard at the time of the accident, and a lifelong friend of the Senft family.

This episode is sponsored by the International Center for Spinal Cord Injury. Visit SpinalCordRecovery.org to learn more.

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App