Blink of an Eye

Blink of an Eye header image 1

Season 2: Episode 3: Reach Out and Touch

Copy_of_blink-1024x512-_5_am2au.jpgReach out and touch somebody’s hand. Pneumonia set in to Archer’s lungs and the doctors said he might not turn the corner as his heart beat remained faint. Unsure if her son would turn a corner, Louise found herself reaching out for support, and for support in a vulnerable way. You will hear how childhood best friends, business friends, clients and even strangers reached out and touched. In this third episode of Season 2, Louise reflects on that energy and some additional best ways to support a family member, friend or acquaintance when they are in crisis or experiencing trauma.

In this episode you will hear the voices of those sending text messages including:

Nan Heller, an Enneagram friend of Louise’s, who lives in Pacific Grove, California and is a licensed clinical social worker.

Jan Houbolt, a close friend of Louise’s who is a community leader and the husband of Rachel Wohl (featured in Episode 29) in Baltimore, Maryland.

Hadley Hubbard Feiss, a teacher friend of Louise’s who lives in Baltimore and summers in Cape May, New Jersey.  

Join Louise for Season 2 of Blink of an Eye: Episode 3: Reach Out and Touch. August 14. Day 10. 

Listen in afterwards to this week’s companion Trauma Healing Learnings episode for new understandings on trauma and tools to navigate your own trauma healing: Trauma Healing Learning: Reach Out and Touch, where Louise takes a closer look at the healing power of human touch. 

To find out more about Archer, Louise, and this podcast, visit our website at blinkofaneyepodcast.com, and follow us on Instagram and Facebook @blinkofaneyepodcast, and Twitter @blinkofaneyepod  Make sure to subscribe wherever you get your podcasts.

You can become a member of our Patreon community and see extra Blink of an Eye content and bonus episodes at our Patreon page

Victoria Vox created the theme music.

Music and sound effects in this episode are by Blue Dot Sessions, Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald, and Diana Ross.

To see some of Archer’s artwork, check out www.slimeyard.com

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

 

Season 2: Episode 1: What Just Happened

Copy_of_blink-1024x512-_2_ax5am.jpg

Welcome to Season 2. Trauma is not just an event, although the trauma experience begins with one event.  In order to move forward in trauma-healing, you often have to look back. 

That’s what Louise Phipps Senft is doing in this first episode of Blink of an Eye’s Season 2. Join Louise as she recaps the first 9 days in the ICU following her son Archer’s diving accident in Cape May, New Jersey. It begins with The Call and ends in the aftermath of Archer’s cardiac arrest. The story doesn’t just stop there, though: Season 2 will continue to follow Louise and her family as they cope with this life changing event and interact with medical staff. But for now, let’s look back at what brought Louise, Archer, and their family of 7 to where we left off. 

In this episode, you will hear excerpts from Louise’s interviews with:

Davis Barsby, the Assistant Manager at the Beach Club and the head lifeguard at the time of the accident, and a lifelong friend of the Senft family.

Paula Senft Easton, Louise’s eldest child, and only daughter, and Archer’s sister, who was 24 at the time of Archer’s accident and is today the Associate Director of Admissions for the Friends School in Baltimore.

Pete Senft, Louise’s son and Archer’s oldest brother, who was 21 at the time of Archer’s accident and in college, and is now a civil engineer at Whiting Turner Construction Company.

Mary Ellen McNally, Louise’s friend from Cape May, New Jersey, who was behind Louise at just the right moment during mass.

Dr. Raymond Talucci, who was the Acting Chief of Trauma at AtlantiCare Hospital in Atlantic City, New Jersey, while Archer was a patient there. 

You will also hear features clips from the following episodes from Season 1 in a montage: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 13, 15, 17, 20, 21, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 31, 33 and 34

Join Louise for this new season, Season 2 of Blink of an Eye: Episode 1: What Just Happened. A look back to August 5-9, the first week. 

Listen in afterwards to this week’s companion Trauma Healing Learnings episode for new understandings on trauma and tools to navigate your own trauma healing: Trauma Healing Learning: What Just Happened, where Louise takes a closer look at forgiveness, generational wounds, and the consequences of medical errors on trauma healing.

To find out more about Archer, Louise, and this podcast, visit our website at blinkofaneyepodcast.com, and follow us on Instagram and Facebook @blinkofaneyepodcast, and Twitter @blinkofaneyepod  Make sure to subscribe wherever you get your podcasts.

You can become a member of our Patreon community and see extra Blink of an Eye content and bonus episodes at our Patreon page

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

The clips in the montage are from season 1 episodes:

Episode 1: The Call: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-1-the-call-1595863847/

Episode 2: He Talked With God: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-2-he-talked-with-god

Episode 3: Tunnel Vision: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/ep-3-tunnel-vision/

Episode 4: The Family Meeting: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-4-family-meeting/

Episode 5: Prayer Warriors Unite!: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-5-prayer-warriors-unite/

Episode 6: The Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda’s: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-6-the-woulda-coulda-shoulda-s/

Episode 7: The Whole Truth and Nothing But the Truth: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-7-the-whole-truth-and-nothing-but-the-truth/

Episode 8: Archer’s Tree Weeps Too: She Knows: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-8-archer-s-tree-weeps-too-she-knows/

Episode 9: Pray for Archer: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-9-pray-for-archer/

Episode 10: What to Say: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-10-what-to-say/

Episode 11: Holding it Together: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-11-holding-it-together/

Episode 12: Some Things Stay the Same: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-12-some-things-stay-the-same/

Episode 13: What Not to Say: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-13-what-not-to-sayh/

Episode 14: Soothing Texts — What (Not) to Text: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-14-soothing-texts-what-not-to-text/

Episode 15: You Gotta Go Through It: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-15-you-gotta-go-through-it/

Episode 16: In the Foxhole: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-16-in-the-foxhole/

Episode 17: The New North Star: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-17-the-new-north-star/

Episode 18: Gateway to Hope: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-18-gateway-to-hope/

Episode 19: You Didn’t Have To, But You Did: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-19-you-didnt-have-to-but-you-did/

Episode 20: A Most Remarkable Day: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-20-a-most-remarkable-day/

Episode 21: Never Underestimate the Humanity of Boys: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-21-never-underestimate-the-humanity-of-boys/

Episode 22: The Body Knows the Score: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/the-body-knows-the-score/

Episode 23: The Body Knows the Score Part 2:

https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-23-the-body-knows-the-score-part-2/

Episode 24:The ABC Board: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-24-the-abc-board/

Episode 25: I Didn’t See This One Coming: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-25-i-didnt-see-this-one-coming/

Episode 26: Little Angel: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-26-little-angel/

Episode 27: No Time for Tears: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-27-no-time-for-tears/

Episode 28: Tell Him Everything: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-28-tell-him-everything/

Episode 29: Mediation for the Mediator: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-29-mediation-for-the-mediator/

Episode 30: The Painful Past Informs Us: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-30-the-painful-past-informs-us/

Episode 31: Stay Alert: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-31-stay-alert/

Episode 32: Peripheral Friends: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-32-peripheral-friends/

Episode 33: Death Be Gone, Part 1: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-33-death-be-gone-part-1/

Episode 34: Death Be Gone, Part 2: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-34-death-be-gone-part-2/

Bonus: A Conversation with James, Danny, and Parker

blink-1024x512-bonus4.png

In this bonus episode, you’ll hear the story of Archer’s accident from the perspective of three of his friends who were right there with him in Cape May: James Schmucker, Danny Giannascoli, and Parker Mitchell. James was the one to pull Archer out of the water, Danny was on the beach, and Parker was visiting from Baltimore that week. They reflect on the moments when they first realized something was wrong, the call to beach patrol, and the rescue efforts and aftermath on the beach and in Cape May.

James, Danny, and Parker share their memories of that day, including the moments when they first realized something was wrong and the rescue that followed, as well as their memories with Archer throughout high school, and their reflections on how Archer’s accident has impacted their lives.

To hear more about the day of the accident, listen to episode 1, “The Call”: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/episode-1-the-call-1595863847/ 

Listen to the interview with Davis Barsby, another eyewitness to the accident and a friend of the family: https://blinkofaneyepodcast.com/e/bonus-episode-davis-barsby/  

Season 2 of Blink of an Eye will launch in three weeks, on June 23! Support us on Patreon at https://www.patreon.com/blinkofaneyepod to help us continue making the podcast.

To find out more about Archer, Louise, and this podcast, visit our website at blinkofaneyepodcast.com, and follow us on Instagram at http://www.instagram.com/blinkofaneyepodcast, Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/blinkofaneyepodcast, and Twitter at https://www.twitter.com/blinkofaneyepod 

Music in this episode is from Blue Dot Sessions. Theme music is by Victoria Vox.

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

Episode 30: The Painful Past Informs Us

Blink of an Eye Podcast Episode 30: The Painful Past Informs Us

As the heat rushed through Louise’s body, she wondered how dark is the place where she and Billy were in their marriage, or was it dark at all? Past conflicts, unresolved anger can surface suddenly engulfing us in their force with strong bodily sensations. Did past trauma play a role in Louise’ trauma with Archer?  Louise steps into the collective traumatic experience we all had after 9-11 and explores how we may not realize the impact that had on us then, and continues to have on us. She explores what is possible and not possible when we are living a trauma. And she explores how the past resides in our bodies and  how the painful past might also provide opportunity and resiliency even in the midst of new trauma.

Join Louise for this episode of Blink of an Eye: Episode 30: The Painful Past Informs Us  August 11 DAY 7. 

Listen in afterwards to Episode 30: The Painful Past Informs Us Trauma Healing Learning

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

Episode 27: No Time for Tears

Blink of an Eye Podcast Episode 27: No Time for Tears

You will hear Insights from Archer’s highschool friends, young men, on what it was like for them to experience their paralyzed friend. Why do we hold back our tears? She explores this with them. Louise also explores why she is beginning to experience mixed emotions with the medical staff: all the medical information is conflicting. Which is it? She wants to know the truth?  She feels slammed from a raging sea from all sides.  Will she and Billy capsize? She is aware of compartmentalizing the truth she wants to hear, but she wants real medical information. It is not forthcoming. She wonders if she is becoming at odds with the medical staff. Listen in to how she keeps Archer’s spirits up as she also shares more epiphanies she had this day, and is reminded to be alert.

Join Louise for this episode of Blink of an Eye: Episode 27: No Time for Tears August 9. DAY 5.  

Listen in afterwards to what we can learn together about trauma. Episode 27: No Time for Tears Trauma Healing Learnings

In this episode you will hear audio recording excerpts from August 2015, of a spontaneous audio car recording of Louise driving to the hospital, and another of Mike Detterman,  Archer’s friend since grade school days in Baltimore .

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

 

Episode 24: The ABC Board

Blink of an Eye Episode 24: The ABC Board - story

If your nose itches, you scratch it. If you can’t reach something, you ask someone to help you get it. But what if you can’t do either? Sometimes the best tools we have at our disposal are not high-tech. They can cost less than a cup of coffee but can be more valuable than a brick of gold. In this episode Louise and her oldest son, Pete, talk about the ABC Board and the gift of communication it gave them with Archer who had no movement, no voice, no ability to ask, request, or express, until with one letter at a time, we learn about ordinary and extraordinary needs.  Louise also wonders about the level of intimacy one can have with professional friends.

Join Louise for this episode of Blink of an Eye: Episode 24: The ABC Board August 9. DAY 5. 

Listen in afterwards to what we can learn together about trauma. Episode 24: The ABC Board Trauma Healing Lesson
 

In this Episode you will hear interview excerpts from

Pete Senft: Louise’s son and Archer’s oldest brother, who was 21 at the time of Archer’s accident and in college, and is now a civil engineer at Whiting Turner Construction Company.

 

#hopeforeverything   #obtaineverything

Podbean App

Play this podcast on Podbean App